Search This Blog


What are the default databases of SQL Server

Microsoft SQL SERVER Provides 4 default databases

1.Master (Controls other Databases):The Master database holds information for all databases located on the SQL Server instance and is the glue that holds the engine together. Because SQL Server cannot start without a functioning master database, you must administer this database with care.

2.Model (Template for new Databases)

3.Msdb (Scheduling and Job Information):The msdb database stores information regarding database backups, SQL Agent information, DTS packages, SQL Server jobs, and some replication information such as for log shipping.

4.Tempdb (Temporary Storage):The tempdb holds temporary objects such as global and local temporary tables and stored procedures. The model is essentially a template database used in the creation of any new user database created in the instance.

No comments: